Awards – Call for Nomination

Like previous years, this year OSA is inviting its members to nominate the deserving candidates for the OSA awards in various categories. We would like to request Chapter representatives and local Odia community leaders (where OSA chapter doesn’t exist) to circulate the following information in their local community networks.

Click here for the Awards Guidelines

Following are the Award categories.

  1. Distinguished Odia Award (Nomination Form)
  2. Utkalamani Gopabandhu Das Memorial Award (Nomination Form)
  3. Subrina Biswal Award for Academic Excellence (Nomination Form)
  4. Arun Das Memorial Kalashree Award (Nomination Form)
  5. Youth Volunteer Award (Nomination Form)
  6. Yuva Kala Vikas Award (Nomination Form)
  7. Meghna Memorial Awards for Creative Writing (Mail articles to
  8. Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Award (Detailed Information)

The deadline for sending the nominations for OSA awards is March 31st, 2013. This date has been chosen to make sure that the Award Committee will get adequate time for the judging process and the recipient will get reasonable amount time to plan to attend the convention personally to receive the award. The deadline is final and not subject to change.

UPDATE: The last date of submission for Meghna Memorial Awards for Creative Writing ( & Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Award has been extended to April 30th, 2013. 

OSA Awards/Award Guidelines:

As per the BOG’s suggestion, the Award Guidelines Committee has modified the existing guideline. The document is in the process of getting approved by the BOG members. Currently an OSA Award guideline document along with nomination forms does exist online. But the committee’s goal was to come up with a consolidated guideline document for all awards and competitions that includes the nomination, selection, and review processes in a consistent, comprehensive and objective manner. Our heartfelt gratitude to Dr. Sukant Mohapatra, and Manoj Mahapatra for their unconditional support and guidance.


The existing guideline document is being enhanced by the following:


a) include specific evaluation matrix for each award/competition where applicable

b) further formalize the roles and responsibilities as much as possible

c) suggest changes to process of nomination / selection to increase transparency and to make judging less subjective

d) spell out the appeal/review process

e) include a ‘new award initiation’ process


Mr. Gagan Panigrahi of Toronto, Canada has graciously agreed to lead the Award Committee with Mr. Nirannjan Mishra and Mr. Pradeep Mohapatra for the year 2013.


Nominations for all awards (except for Meghna Memorial Award and Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Award) should be sent to Award Coordinators at


Awards requiring documentary proofs such as recommendation letters for Subrina Biswal Award for Academic Excellence (Competition) must be mailed by US/Canada post to Mr.Gagan Panigrahi at 131 Goulding Ave, Toronto, ON M2M 1L5, CANADA


Nominations for Meghna Memorial Award must be mailed to & Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Awards should be sent to Ranjan Kumar Dash at

For further information on Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Awards, please visit

Winners of OSA Awards – 2012